You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to SPRINKLER TALK FORUM - You Got Questions, We've Got Answers. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains how this page works. You must be registered before you can use all the page's features. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

manowell

Sunday, September 6th 2015, 6:43pm

Advice, opinions, or just a source of amusement?

I'm completely new to irrigation, but have a controller and am adding some zones to our backyard where there have never been any. The house we're in is circa early 1960's, a front yard sprinkler system was in place when we moved in, seven zones in the front do work pretty well. The installed left a stubbed off 1" PVC heading to the back yard, so that was nice of them and I'm making good use of it.

I had a leak near the front water meter recently so we dug the whole thing up. (the fresh PVC, 3/4" stuff, replaced the cracked 1" PVC stuff that was there. I viewed it as a temporary fix while I figured this out.)

The City of Irving, Texas, tells me I have a 3/4" water meter. One end of it says "Hersey 5/8", so is it really not 3/4"?

Is this a backflow preventer? If so, if this was your home, would you leave it alone and bury it again, or replace it? On either end were corroded off bits that looked like they might have been valve levers (where the rusty places are).

Does this copper loop-the-loop make any sense from a plumbing perspective, or was it just a guy using what he had to get it all in the hole after teeing in the sprinkler system much later?

This post has been edited 2 times, last edit by "manowell" (Sep 7th 2015, 11:29am)

Wet_Boots

Supreme Member

Monday, September 7th 2015, 8:15am